Karn, Bumrah carry Mumbai into fourth IPL final

Mumbai Indians 108 for 4 (Krunal 42*, Chawla 2-34) beat Kolkata Knight Riders 107 (Suryakumar 31, Karn 4-16, Bumrah 3-7) by six wickets
Scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Jasprit Bumrah finished with figures of 3-1-7-3, the best of his T20 career © BCCI

Karn Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah picked up their best T20 bowling figures on the same day, combining to take 7 for 23 in seven overs to lift Mumbai Indians into their fourth IPL final with a six-wicket win against Kolkata Knight Riders.

Sent in to bat on another difficult Chinnaswamy Stadium pitch, Knight Riders succumbed to some excellent bowling plans to slump to 31 for 5 in seven overs. A 56-run sixth-wicket partnership between Suryakumar Yadav and Ishank Jaggi ensured they would get past their lowest-ever total – 67, against the same opponents, back in 2008 – but their eventual total of 107 was never going to present Mumbai Indians a genuine challenge.

Mumbai lost three wickets inside their Powerplay, before Krunal Pandya and Rohit Sharma steadied the chase with a partnership of 54. Krunal remained at the crease till the end, finishing unbeaten on 42 off 30 balls as Mumbai got home with 33 balls remaining.

More to follow…

Karthik Krishnaswamy is a senior sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo